Member of SCNAT

The SFC is the specialists society for chemical analysis of food and commodities in Switzerland. It promotes the understanding of chemical and physical relationships, as well as the knowledge of analytical methods and techniques.more

Image: Dan Race, stock.adobe.commore

SFC Young Scientist Award

The SFC Young Scientist Award is given annually to outstanding Master's or Bachelor's theses and rewards them with CHF 2,000 (Master's) or CHF 1,000 (Bachelor's). The award also includes three years' free membership of the SFC.

The theses must be in the SFC's field of expertise and must have been carried out at a Swiss university. They must not be older than two years at the time of the application deadline.

The application deadline for the SFC Young Scientist Award 2023 is still open.

The application should be sent to and should include the following:

  • Mail with a short justification and the most important details of the work (topic, when, where, with whom, ...).
  • CV of the applicant
  • Letter of support from the responsible person at the university
  • Summary of the Master's or Bachelor's thesis
  • Entire Master's or Bachelor's thesis
  • Correspondence takes place exclusively by e-mail. The theses will be evaluated by a committee of the SFC Board of Directors according to originality and innovation, quality and scope as well as presentation and overall impression. There is no right of appeal.

The two awards will be presented at an SFC event where the recipients are expected to present their work in a short paper. Until the announcement of which work will receive an award, it will be treated confidentially.

For students, membership is free for a maximum of 3 years (with proof through student ID). Simply register, even if you are not applying for an SFC Young Scientist Award!

Award History

Mitglied der SCNAT

Die SFC ist die Fachgesellschaft für chemische Analytik von Lebensmitteln und Gebrauchsgegenständen in der Schweiz. Sie fördert das Verständnis für die chemischen und physikalischen Zusammenhänge sowie das Wissen über analytische Methoden und Techniken.mehr

Bild: Dan Race, stock.adobe.commehr

SFC Young Scientist Award

Mit dem SFC Young Scientist Award werden jährlich hervorragende Master- oder Bachelor-Arbeiten ausgezeichnet und mit CHF 2’000 (Master) bzw. CHF 1’000 (Bachelor) belohnt. Weiter gibt es eine dreijährige Gratismitgliedschaft bei der SFC.

Die Arbeiten müssen vom Thema her im Fachgebiet der SFC liegen und an einer Schweizer Hochschule ausgeführt worden sein. Sie dürfen zum Zeitpunkt der Antragsfrist nicht älter als zwei Jahre sein.

Die Antragsfrist für den SFC Young Scientist Award 2023 ist noch offen.

Der Antrag ist an zu senden und soll folgendes umfassen:

  • Mail mit einer kurzen Begründung und den wichtigsten Angaben zur Arbeit (Thema, wann wo gemacht, bei wem, …)
  • CV der/des Antragsstellenden
  • Letter of Support der/des Verantwortlichen seitens der Hochschule
  • Zusammenfassung der Master- oder Bachelor-Arbeit
  • Gesamte Master- oder Bachelor-Arbeit

Die Korrespondenz erfolgt ausschliesslich per Mail. Die Arbeiten werden von einem Ausschuss des SFC-Vorstandes nach Originalität und Innovation, nach Qualität und Umfang sowie nach Präsentation und Gesamteindruck abschliessend bewertet. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.

Die beiden Awards werden im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung der SFC verliehen, wo die Ausgezeichneten ihre Arbeit in einem Kurzreferat präsentieren sollen. Bis zur Verkündung, welche Arbeiten einen Award erhalten, werden diese vertraulich behandelt.

Für Studierende ist die Mitgliedschaft für max. 3 Jahre kostenlos (mit Nachweis durch Studentenausweis). Melden Sie sich einfach an, auch wenn Sie sich nicht für einen SFC Young Scientist Award bewerben!

Award History